Share projects with other groups (FREE)
You can share projects with other groups. This makes it possible to add a group of users to a project with a single action.
For example, if
Project A belongs to
Group 1, the members of
Group 1 have access to the project.
Project A already belongs to another
Group 2, the owner of
Group 2 can share
Group 1, so that both members of
Group 1 and
Group 2 have access to the project.
When a project is shared with a group:
All group members, including members of subgroups or projects that belong to the group, are assigned the same role in the project. Each member's role is displayed in Project information > Members, in the Max role column. When sharing a project with a group, a user's assigned Max role is the lowest of either:
- The role assigned in the group membership.
- The maximum role selected when sharing the project with the group.
Assigning a higher maximum role to the group doesn't give group users higher roles than the roles already assigned to them in the group.
The group is listed in the Groups tab.
The project is listed on the group dashboard.
Be aware of the restrictions that apply when you share projects with:
Share projects with groups with a more restrictive visibility level
You can share projects only down the group's organization structure. This means you can share a project with a group that has a more restrictive visibility level than the project, but not with a group that has a less restrictive visibility level.
For example, you can share:
- A public project with a private group.
- A public project with an internal group.
- An internal project with a private group.
This restriction applies to subgroups as well. For example,
- Can't be shared with
- Can be shared with
When you share a project with a group that has a more restrictive visibility level than the project:
- The group name is visible to all users that can view the project members page.
- Owners of the project have access to members of the group when they mention them in issues or merge requests.
- Project members who are direct or indirect members of the group can see group members listed in addition to members of the project.
Share a project with a group
You can share a project only with groups:
- Where you have an explicitly defined membership.
- That contain a nested subgroup or project you have an explicitly defined role for.
- You are an administrator of.
To share a project with a group:
- On the top bar, select Main menu > Projects and find your project.
- In the left navigation menu, select Project information > Members.
- Select Invite a group.
- Select a group you want to add to the project.
- Select a role you want to assign to the group.
- Optional. Select an Access expiration date.
- Select Invite.
Prevent project sharing
For more information, see Prevent a project from being shared with groups.